News and Notes: NFL Week 1

I’m still recovering from an exciting NFL Sunday, even though my excitement really took a hit last night during the late night game. I would just like to point out a couple newsworthy topics i saw coming from the first regular season weekend.

I was going to start with the Texans/Colts game, but I feel like I have to address the Lions/Bears game first.  Was it a catch? Absolutely it was a catch. Was it technically a catch?  By the NFL rules, apparently it wasn’t. I have seen a lot less being called a completion, whether it be in the end zone or not, hell i saw a few “completions” yesterday that looked less complete than that particular play.

Texans/Colts: Perfect statement game for the Texans, and as a side note, welcome to the NFL Mr. Foster. I have watched almost every game ever played between these two teams, and for the first time ever, Houston looked and acted like the better team yesterday. They controlled the line of scrimmage on both sides of the ball, forcing Manning into almost 60 pass attempts. Indy will bounce back, probably at little bro Eli’s expense, but I am more focused on the Texans at this point. Is this the year they finally take the next step?

Cowboys/Redskins: Terrible game for BOTH teams. I watched the entire game, save for a couple channel flips to the MTV VMA’S, and neither  team looked at all impressive. The Skins can build on that game because they won, and the Cowboys can build on that game by well, doing everything better then they did last night.

Packers/Eagles: Packers looked like the same team that started the season last year, and that is not a good thing. Protection for Aaron Rodgers got better in the second half, but they won’t be able to get away with weak protection all season. As for the Eagles, Kolb looked terrible, Vick looked good…QB controversy? No. Kolb will start, and Vick will wildcat. The real question is, why? Why do it that way at all, one guy starts, the other sits, simple as that.

Bengals/Patriots: I couldn’t care less about this game to be honest. Good to see Welker back, although it does make me wonder how he got back so fast…(just saying.) Terrell Ochocinc Owens did pretty much what I expected. No playoffs if they don’t get that under control.

49ers/Seahawks: WOW. Except for fans of Seattle, who saw that coming?

Offensive player of the day: Arian Foster. 33 caries for 231 yards and 3 TD’s.

Defense of the Day: Washington Redskins

I’m excited for the Ravens/Jets game tonight, hopefully it will be a shoot out, but probably not. Chargers/Chiefs I will not watch, because I honestly don’t care who wins or loses, and I can catch the good stuff on Sportscenter after the game.

I’ll be back on Friday for a week two preview, and again next Monday for the weekend wrap-up.

Posted on September 13, 2010, in Football, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey great blog you got here! Keep up the great work. I think that the Redskins showed a lot in the first game of the season even though the numbers may not have shown it. The offence could have finished some of their drives and the O-line was very solid. The offence probably could use some more time to become accustomed to their new quarterback but those things take time. The defence was just stellar IMO. I think a lot of signs point to good things for the new look Washington Redskins. Also, you think you could check out my blog cuz I would really love to hear your opinion on my thoughts. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2010/09/12/beware-of-the-redskins/

    • I absolutely agree with you about the Skins defense…to hold any team to only 7 is a major accomplishment, especially if that team is the Cowboys…The Skins D will keep them in games, but that offense does need to improve a little bit…

Leave a Reply

