NFL Sunday week 2 thoughts and opinons

I’m extremely tired as I’m writing this so forgive me if things sound a bit harsh. Week 2 in the NFL is almost done, so here’s a few noteworthy topics I’d like to touch on.

I know what your thinking, “He’s going to start with the Texans Redskins game…blah blah blah.” Nope. I’m going to start with the “Manning Bowl” a.k.a. the Indianapolis Colts versus the New York Giants. Indy looked about like one would expect, not too surprising. The Giants lack of offense or defense didn’t surprise me either, they honestly didn’t look at all impressive last week against Carolina, so I was far from shocked to see them lose that badly. And yes, I will address  the elephant in the room, or more appropriately the helmet in the crowd. Will Brandon Jacobs be suspended? Probably. Should he be suspended? Absolutely not. He should be fined a large sum of money, more so because he missed the bench than the actual helmet into the crowd part of it. I have no doubt if this were to occur again he wouldn’t miss the bench, since that’s where most of his time will be spent now. And for a side note, I am not in the party that believes that fan should have been allowed to keep the helmet. Just because an item goes into the stands doesn’t mean it belongs to the fans…this isn’t baseball.

Now that I’ve I got that out of the way…The Houston Texans against the Washington Redskins. I’m an admitted Texans fan, so I’ll just put it out there, last week wasn’t a fluke. I would have understood and been totally fine if the sports media deemed it that way if the Texans hadn’t battled back and won. The Redskins showed utter brilliance on offense, choosing to attack the weakest part of the Texans D, the very young and inexperienced secondary. I believe, even with this loss, the Redskins proved they are not the same “easy out” they have been these last few years, and they are looking more and more like contenders in this division. But wait! “Is he going to bring up that “icing” the kicker crap?” No, simply because it is not illegal to do. Just ask coach Shanahan.

Dallas looked almost terrible against Chicago. If they don’t figure out what is wrong, they might go 0-3… They play Houston next week, for my thoughts on that game, tune in Friday for my week 3 preview.

The Jets surprised me, I will acknowledge that. But this offensive explosion makes me beg the question “What happened last Monday night against Baltimore?”

Minnesota is EXACTLY what I expected to see, as I may be one of the few who believe Favre is almost certainly done. Don’t get me wrong, he’ll have big games, I believe they play the Rams next week, but I honestly believe they will miss the playoffs by a mile this season.

I believe that will just about wrap things up for today’s post. I will have a special post this Wednesday, giving my opinion on the recently released “Most Hated Players In Sports”.  Also, don’t forget to come by on Friday for the NFL Week 3 preview.

Posted on September 20, 2010, in Football, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice post over here, I definitely enjoyed the read! Another really fun week in the NFL world and again we saw a lot of things we expected and things that came out of the blue. I think the Dolphins defense showed a lot in week 2 against Brett Favre and the Vikings. They were able to shut down a team with a supposed potent offense and a made Favre look old once again. Offense wasn’t great but they shwoed enough to get the job done, and after an unimpressive win against Buffalo, they came back strong with an impressive win in Minnesota. Also, you think you could check out my blog because I’d’ love to hear what you think. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2010/09/20/wake-up-call/

Leave a Reply

