NFL Week 3 preview!!!

This is shaping up to be an interesting week in the NFL world. A lot of questions should be answered, contenders and pretenders will be exposed, and the burning question in my mind…what sort of obscure rule or exploit will be brought to light this week. Two weeks in a row, a rule or rule exploit has come under fire, so if the trend holds, we’ll get another “controversy” coming from the good book of NFL rules and comedy sketches. I’ll try to touch on as many of the games as I can, some obviously more detailed than others.

Big game for me this week is, no surprise here, the Texans hosting the Cowboys. Obviously the Cowboys need this more than the Texans, as I believe the Texans have a bit of a light schedule coming up. The Cowboys on the other hand, depending on the outcome of this Sundays “Texas Sized Showdown”, appear to almost be running a gauntlet. The Cowboys need it more, so they will play all out, which might lead to mistakes, Texans win 35 to 28. Sorry Cowboys, to me it looks like the blame train will be leaving the station come Monday morning.

Minnesota versus Detroit to me is the most important game of the season, so far, for the Vikings. If they lose and go down 0-3, and the Packers or Bears win Monday night, it will be almost impossible to come back from that hole. That being said, I’m taking the Lions 24 to 21, last second field goal.

Speaking of Green Bay and Chicago, this reads to me as a wild west shootout. The Packers have looked good so far, but not as explosive as last year. The Bears however have looked very explosive, which leads me to believe this will be a very high scoring game. Packers 49 Chicago 42. Defense will return next week at its regularly scheduled time.

San Francisco in Kansas City will be an old school beat em up. San Fran wins 13 to 10.

Baltimore needs a bounce back from last week, and who better than the Browns. Ravens 17 Browns 14.

New England will probably try their best to embarrass and humiliate Buffalo. Lack of sportsmanship 56 Buffalo 10.

Atlanta and New Orleans has the potential to be a phenomenal game. New Orleans 30 Atlanta 27.

Tennessee versus the Giants will be a game about redemption. Redemption for Vince Young, who was body slammed and benched last week. And for Eli Manning, who discovered the hard way Peyton won’t let go of number one Manning in the NFL, or the family barbecue for that matter.

Steelers versus Bucs: this is one of the handful of games that I was referring to when I said contenders or pretenders.  Regretfully I say the Steelers win 21 to 20.

Philadelphia versus Jacksonville. Michael Vick is the starter this week, and rightfully so. Honestly, Kevin Kolb shouldn’t be starting until next year in my opinion. Rebuild the franchise a bit more, through drafting and what have you. Hand him the keys to the car after you get done tricking it out…or repairing it, whichever sounds less offensive. Oh yeah I almost forgot, Eagles 27 Jaguars 14.

That’s it for this week, I’ll be back on Monday with my weekly weekend in review. Since I don’t really partake in College football, I will get that special Wednesday post finished this weekend, I half heartedly promise.

Posted on September 24, 2010, in Football, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

