NFL Weekly Weekend Review!! (week 3..plus a little extra)

Whew! What a wild weekend in the NFL! By wild I do mean slightly out of the norm events that will have the media “buzzing” until next week. Nothing really to surprising this week for me, but I do want to touch on a couple “hot button” issues. But I will get to that after the weekly weekend roundup…I think I’ve finally found a name for these!

Cowboys Texans started out strong, but did fade kind of quickly once we got to halftime. The hilarious referee issue was probably the highlight of the second half for me. What? Not the Cowboys finally living up to all the hype they seem to generate every single season? Nope. Not the Texans sputtering on offense and defense to look like the team everyone naturally expects from them? Nope. The Texans have a very winnable schedule going into their bye week in week six. The Cowboys had to win this game, and they did, but the gauntlet of their schedule is coming up, and they will certainly have to play this hard or harder to get victories.

The Saints Falcons game didn’t surprise me. A division game against the reigning Super Bowl champs is motivation enough to play your asses off.

Like I previously stated, I believe the Giants are over hyped this year. They pretty much proved it to me yesterday against the Titans. A truck full of yards, and only ten points? They’ll be a tough team to beat, but they won’t accomplish too many preseason goals if they continue to play like they have been.

Buffalo versus New England was a wee bit surprising. Surprising in the sense the Patriots couldn’t blow them out.

The Vikings Win!! Cash it in baby we’re going to the Super Bowl!! Who’d we beat? The Lions? Crap…. Sorry Minnesota, until you beat a worthy opponent, I still believe your average at best.

Congratulations to the Kansas City Chiefs. 3-0! Could it be we are seeing the resurrection of the Chiefs? Potentially, but they will have to keep it up.

Also, a congratulation goes out to  Michael Vick. 2-0 as a starter and has the Eagles leading the division. I will touch more on this particular subject Wednesday, so be on the lookout for that.

Indy won again…not surprising at all considering who we’re talking about. Denver had there moments to close the gap, but they just couldn’t seem to convert when they needed to.

The Jets beat the Dolphins. For such a dominating defense they sure have given up quite a bit of points, except for the Monday night game. At least for them, they are finally living up to all the hype they gave themselves and seemingly everybody else in the universe.

There is one football related issue I would like to discuss briefly. That would be the arrest of Jets wide receiver Braylon Edwards for DWI.

I think it is disgusting and reprehensible to drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Accidents happen when not inebriated, so why would you add to the chances? I’m talking about everybody here, not just professional athletes or Hollywood celebrities or the TMZ celebrities. Please don’t give me that nonsense about “I drive better when I’m drunk.” If you believe in your idiotic selfish mind you drive better drunk than sober, you shouldn’t be driving at all. All it takes is one tragedy to completely change your perspective and outlook on the matter, trust me. As for all these famous because we make them famous people, you would rather risk your life and the lives of innocent people then take a cab or a limo service home? If you answered yes to that question, seek professional help as quickly as possible. Before I get off the soapbox I would just like to add this… taxi’s, limos and car services don’t cost nearly as much  as the alcohol or drugs your buying, and the cost is certainly less than that of an innocent life being taken away for your ignorance and stupidity.

Whew. Now that I got that off my chest I think I’m going to go ahead and wrap this up. I’ll be back with a special Wednesday post, so check that out. And as always, I will be back Friday for the NFL week 4 preview party!

Posted on September 27, 2010, in Football, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

