DC Universe Online Beta Review and Thoughts

As my just returned co-writer has stated, I’m going to deliver a review of the beta for the soon to be released MMORPG DC Universe Online. The game aims to allow players to interact with the DC Universe by creating their own heroes and villains. This follows The Age of Conan and Star Trek Online games that have been released over the past few years.

Now, I am not a gamer by any leap of the imagination. I have played a few games to completion, but only a few. Most of my game experience comes from watching my brother play.

That disclaimer out of the way, I have to say that I have played DC Universe Online more than any other game recently.

The game, the world, sucks you right in to being a hero or a villain. My own choice (the character I played as most often) was a wizard being mentored by Circe. My brother tended to be heroes with characters under Batman and Superman.

And let me tell you, it is easier being the villain! Life can occasionally be restored during missions, post knock out respawning is often nearer to one’s mission location, and the NPC side kick is often more helpful (or at least Brother Blood). That said, being a hero has its advantages, I just don’t know what they are.

The best part about the game is the immersive world and the visuals of Metropolis and Gotham. The cityscapes are just stunning and amazingly well done. My only complaint is that Metropolis is always day and Gotham always night. Hopefully the time changes in both in the actual game.

As my co-writer stated, the game can be frustrating despite the fun. The boss battles are tough- especially when you don’t know how to renew life.  Both me and my brother had to quit several times to avoid getting too frustrated. And the amount of life (and the durability of the character) is variable. At times, nothing can touch you (or inflict a lot of damage) or only a few hits and you are out. This inconsistency is a drawback that needs more attention paid to it.

Another issue is the text graphics. How am I supposed to know what to do if I cannot actually read the text?

Many of the problems, I think, could be solved if, during the tutorial, more attention is paid to giving the player more instruction on how to play the game.

Finally, I don’t know if I want to buy the game itself. The monthly subscription fee is a turnoff and I don’t know whether or not I would actually want to continue playing it for months or years to come.

Posted on January 6, 2011, in Video games and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

