A Quick Review of One Piece Vol. 1

So, I finally took the plunge and read the first volume of One Piece. And it was awesome. Eiichiro Oda is amazing. Not as good as Fairy Tail, but certainly one of the best first volumes of a manga I’ve read.

The story is excellently realized and wonderfully executed. The characters are engaging and interesting, if a little deformed. I found myself being carried away with the story.

The art is excellent, if a little cartoony (not that that is a bad thing).

I have a theory that to be a great shonen manga, the artist must create characters, story, and a world that takes the tropes and archetypes of the genre and take them in directions that are new and unusual.

Which is where I do have concerns about the series. I Monkey D. Luffy going to annoy me to no end at some point? I don’t know, but I look forward to finding out.

Posted on November 11, 2011, in Manga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

