Rambling Changes

I’ve been dealing with a cold for the past week. Still have an annoying cough, but that’s about it. And I’ve struggled to come up with a good idea for a post since my review of Dryland’s End. So, I’m going to inflict, I think, one of my rambling, multiple subject posts.

I could talk about the NFL playoffs. How crazy was the Pittsburgh-Denver finish? How shocking is it that Atlanta fell so easy to New York (though I suspect George R. R. Martin is ecstatic)? And (most importantly) how impressive was the Texans’ first playoff win? But, I’m not really passionate enough, or knowledgeable enough, about football to really talk about it.

On another front, closer to the blog’s, is my contemplation of changing the nature of it. So far, I’ve mostly kept to the original plan for it, despite the fact that my coauthor has been absent for almost a year now. The original plan was to do something similar to Atomic Gadfly and other review/critical/etc. blogs. But I’m not really satisfied with that approach anymore. I’m really more interested in turning this into a writer’s blog. Of course, is there really much of a difference? Then again, a writer’s blog also implies an increased willingness to talk about one’s personal life. And I’m still too shy for that. I’ve never liked to talk about myself.

In a way, I think my desire to refocus the blog has a lot to do with my growing exhaustion with genre critical theory. While I’m still interested in reading (and occasionally writing) it, I’m just not that into it. I want to do other things besides argue about nihilism (or the misuse of nihilism). Is it so wrong to express frustration with the lack of progress? That like American politics, critical opinions aren’t changing. For me, recognizing that I’m wrong or willing to change my opinion is important. I don’t like the notion that you have to keep the same opinions or be labeled a flip-flopper.

Speaking of my writing, I am exploring changes here as well. Now, I’ve had this one idea for years. But I’ve struggled with how to express it in the best way. I’ve also become increasingly interested in the potential of comic/ graphic story telling and writing. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m not an artist. I can’t draw worth a dime. So, while I’m sure that a series format and a graphic novel are best for some of my ideas, I have no idea how to actually get them into that second stage. I’m exploring options, but some of them would take far more work than I originally intended (more on this in a later post).

So, I’m going to conclude this post here. Sometimes these rambling posts are very helpful.

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. ‘Specially if it’s genre criticism from Theo… Black Gate has great content from Matthew David Surridge, Brian Murphy, C.S.E. Cooney and, well, just about everyone, but my heart always sinks when I see another article from that fellow go up. I have no idea why I don’t just ignore them. A sense of completeness, I guess.

  2. I want to do other things besides argue about nihilism (or the misuse of nihilism).

    Ah, so I guess you saw Theo’s latest post as Black Gate, then.

    • Actually, I was reacting to the World in Satin Blog critique of Bryan Thomas Schmidt’s issues with moral ambiguity. And then, Theo has a post up on Black Gate. I really need to limit my genre criticism intake.

Leave a Reply

