Reading, Writing, and Comics

This is a second attempt at a post I was writing yesterday. But the more I though about it, the more it gestated in my brain, the less thrilled I was with the direction it was going.

Now, I was wanting to blog about my reactions to reading Paul Cornell’s Dark Reign Young Avengers. Namely, I questioned the reason why the Young Masters were even needed in the story. But the more I though about it, the more I realized that it played into the theme of the Dark Reign tie-in without compromising the heroic integrity of the Young Avengers.

The whole point about using the Young Masters is that it presents a dilemma of identity. Do these misfits, who could become one or the other, turn to heroism or super villainy? In this case, Norman Osborn and his Dark Avengers play the role of the devil (not a very effective devil mind you) and the Young Avengers play the angels (as effective as they are).  And the series ends abruptly with no decision made. To be honest, I’m still disappointed by the arc, but I understand it better. Still, I would have liked to see the Young Avengers actually be tempted to villainy.

This also brings up my thoughts on Naruto’s theme. The achievement of power and recognition is only meaningful if it is used to protect one’s comrades and community. That explains why most of the antagonists in the series are missing  ninja- they have forsaken their comrades and community, broken the bonds that holds people together. In this light, Naruto’s feelings for Sasuke is more understandable (if not still annoying).

So, what does this have to do with writing? Everything one reads is inspiration. How would the heroes I create react to dark temptations? Does leaving one’s society ever constitute a good thing? One of the great and fun things about literature is seeing how different writers riff off of each other.

I will conclude this post with bit of a cliffhanger. I’ve been researching the various publishing options for comic books. While there are more options than I had thought, obviously getting in is still tough. I’ve been wondering if certain ideas demand on genre form or could be utilized in many different genres. That’s what I want to look at next time in more detail.

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

