Plans Etc.

To preface this post, I should never read works by the same author one after another. I’m currently stalled with my Ian Fleming reading goal. The sad thing is: I’ve stalled out on Live and Let Die. That goes to show what evil things omnibuses are. .  .

This post is largely going to be me blathering about changes I want to do to the blog (and trying to cajole some responses). So, what do I want to change?

I certainly want to change the layout and general design. I don’t know if I’ll change the header design or not. To be honest, I rather like it.

Since the blog’s inception, it has been exclusively text only. I’ve been wanting to change that for a while now. The question, though, is should I make it retroactive and revisit some of my past posts to include images where needed?

Another argument for revisiting old posts is to take a second look at things. There have been a few comments arguing I should revisit my Bas Lag RP and (certainly) my review of Trigun. So, I could do a sort of blast from the past where I revisit posts and compare my thoughts then and now (and include images and other media).

The topics that I’ve covered over the past year and a half have been rather random and dependent on what ever strikes my fancy at any given moment. That general randomness will continue, but I want to more tightly organize things into categories.

I’m certainly going to continue to write about the things that interest me. But I am rather reticent about making the blog more personal and devoting some of my posts to discussing my other writings. Then again, writing about problems I’m having helps me to solve and  soldier past them. I’m still undecided. Maybe I can do a trial run composed of several posts and see how I feel about it.

Clearly, despite my not wanting to, I’ve continued to inflict analysis and theorizing on here. What can I say? I’m probably obsessed with the nature and theory of fantasy fiction. And I want to, perhaps, merge some of the ideas I’ve developed with what I learned in my lit. theory classes.

Finally, I’ll make my final decision on how I want Nerd Redefined to look in the coming weeks. If you have any thoughts, ideas, comments, etc. please post in the comments section. So far, I have requests to redo Bas-Lag and Trigun, are there any other requests for taking second looks at some of my previous posts?

Also, look for me to try and be more active elsewhere on other blogs and sites. And that includes links and references as needed here.

To end this post at the beginning, maybe an unsaid reason why I’m no fan of A Song of Ice and Fire is because I simply get bored three hundred pages in. Anyway. I’ll try and track down those damn Fleming Bond novels at my local used book shop when I get the chance.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Definitely keep your header 🙂 I’ve enjoyed your posts so far, pics or no pics.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

