Upcoming Comics Excitement:Marvel

I do believe I have my foot in my mouth. In a post a few months back, I mentioned that Marvel didn’t have much that interested me. With the new Marvel Now! initiative and a slew of new series recently, I have to take a second look.

First of all, I love the new Captain Marvel series from Kelly Sue  DeConnick and Dexter Soy. Definitely a series I intend to follow.

Then there are the two series debuting this month: Hawkeye and Gambit. Now, Matt Fraction and David Aja’s Hawkeye sounds interesting. But I’m not fond of the art. Gambit by James Asmus and Clay Mann is, perhaps, a toss up. I’d like to check it out. But is it more a case of fanservice or actually wanting to follow Gambit’s adventures?

Moving on, I’ve mentioned my interest in checking out the new Uncanny Avengers from Rick Remender, John Cassaday, and Laura Martin. The various new promotions, interviews, etc. have only increased that interest. And the same is true of Brian Michael Bendis’s All New X-Men. I know the notion of the original X-Men coming to the future is a bit problematic, but one cannot deny the psychological and emotional challenges that all five will face when they get a good look at their futures.

Moving on to the various relaunches, I’m largely only interested in two series. Thor: God of Thunder by Jason Aaron and Esad Ribic and X-Men: Legacy by Si Spurrier and Tan Eng Huat. The concept behind the new X-Men: Legacy sounds extremely cool.

The other relaunches, I’m not that interested in. Especially FF. The art just looks terrible, honestly.

And then, there are all the other possible series that may or may not happen. I’m still waiting to see if there is a new Young Avengers / Young Marvel Heroes series in the offing. But, that is, obviously, a post for another day.

So, I’m wrong that Marvel doesn’t have series that interest me. Now, will I follow all (or even some of them)? I doubt it. If my experience with the New 52 is any indication, I’ll gradually weed away series until I have a core set of series that I really love.

Posted on August 14, 2012, in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

