Getting Back into DC Universe Online

After a few months away from DC Universe Online, I recently got back into playing the game. The game is still as fun as it has always been. But, there are some elements of the game that I would like to see changed or included.

But first, some news. I finally beat Scarecrow! He is still, in my opinion, the toughest of the first bosses. Largely, I think, because players have to go through a lot of stages to beat him. But once the illusions are over, he is actually quite simple. Weaker than most comparable henchmen, to be honest.

So, now that I’ve beaten each first boss, I think my goal of achieving level 30 with each mentor is in reach. Let’s see how long that lasts. The Batman/ Joker level 15 is an absolute pain. And I’ve yet to beat the Wonder Woman/ Circe one yet. We’ll see how this goes, though.

Now, I mentioned earlier that there are a few things I’d like to see DCUO do. Largely, I think it is limited to three things.

The Gadgets power set is still pretty useless. Even with the new editing of the abilities. Besides that, aren’t all the player characters supposed to be metas? How does relying on gadgets have anything to do with being exobyte empowered?

Personally, I’d like to see Gadgets get replaced by a Kryptonian power set (or as a new power set). I know several Kryptonian powers are in the iconic designation. But, utilizing them usually aren’t worth the power points. I want Kryptonian powers that actually work.

The main thing I’d like to see DCUO do is provide for more player involvement. Once a player reaches level 30, what then? Just more alerts? I would like to see more missions added. I don’t know how many players play villains. But I do know this, not one villain will rise above the level of hired muscle/ henchman or woman.

A thought I had, to increase player involvement, is to allow for players to construct their own missions. I really don’t know how it would be done. And I don’t know how many headaches the developers would have. It may be far more of a hassle than it is worth, but I think it would be great fun to develope one’s own schemes rather than have to serve as a mere minion throughout the game.

I greatly enjoy playing DCUO. I think my wish list for changes to the game will make it funner. But, regardless, I’ll still play it.

Posted on August 20, 2012, in Video games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

