Thoughts: Observations and Frustrations

I’ve noticed in my writing that I’m torn between long hand and writing on the computer. On the one hand, I gravitate to using pen and paper to jot down my copious ideas, notes, and early prep work. But when it comes to the more in depth  prep work, the outlining, and the drafting, I much prefer working on the computer. Though there are times when I just go for pen and paper regardless of whether or not it makes more sense to use the computer.

There is just something about writing out my thoughts on pen and paper that is more engrossing compared to similar activities on the computer. I don’t think it is the ease of distraction that computers can provide. Today, for example, I went on a seven page idea and prep romp while texting my brother, listening to two podcasts, and occasionally surfing the web. I had intended to do much of this on the computer. But I just went for the pen and paper. Curious, I think.

But, there are certainly areas of writing that the trusty computer wins at. I don’t particularly like having to manually recopy everything out, so I much prefer using the computer for the grunt work. Say I’m outlining something, if I don’t like it, I’ll go in and fix it without having to rewrite everything.

 

The more I think about, the more certain I am that I’m an outliner. The times I’ve written pantsing, I’ve found myself crashing against a wall or going off into very weird tangents. Mind you, outlining does take away some of the fun out of writing. But slogging through is better than staring at the computer in frustration or typing out garbage.

 

I had originally wanted to write a post detailing my frustrations with comic book writing (or at least the initiatory phases of writing for comics) when IGN Assemble got me to thinking.

Now, lets be clear, writing for comics is tough. New technologies are making things both infinitely easier and considerably more difficult.

Pitching ideas, assembling a creative team (if working on creator owned stuff), and the myriad other issues that potential comics writers face can be daunting and dejecting.

I’ve mentioned a few times that I would like to write a comic book series at some point. A good portion of my problem can be solved if I could actually draw. But, honestly, I suck at art. So, I would have to assemble a creative team to start with. And I don’t know how well I could collaborate with a team.

So, I’ve been toying with the idea of omnibusing the comic book idea. It just doesn’t work.

This brings me to another of my frustrations. I have difficulty sticking to a single project for the duration. I get bored, dejected, or enraptured with a new idea. And by the time I get back to what I was doing, I’ve lost the momentum. Probably another reason why I’m best suited as an outliner. It’s easier to pick up where I left off.

 

I’ll admit that I’m still far away from publishing (or submitting) anything. Yet it is important to think about that possibility. I’ve blogged about preferring the traditional method over self publishing (or should that be e-publishing). And while I still feel going the traditional route (agent and publisher) is the right call for books (unless one has a considerably larger platform), I’m not sure I’m right about comic books. That is where IGN Assemble gave me pause to think. Could it be possible that forgoing the major publishers is the right move (especially given that unless you are working with the superpowers there is no guarantee your books will even get picked up by the shops)?

I guess I’ll have to do more research. Which is, honestly, always a good thing.

 

This post has gone on a little longer than I wanted it to, so I’m going to end it here with no real conclusion. But this post has helped me work through some of my frustrations, so that is a positive.

I don’t know what I have in store for next week. I’m tempted to do a politics post. But I don’t know. Maybe I’ll be lucky and something will jump at me.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

