31 Days of Post Day 7: Rent and Kill Bill

Friday, I had a bit of a movie day. In the afternoon, I watched Rent and that evening watched the complete Kill Bill. As I watched the former movie, I found myself wondering why I liked it in the first place. And as for the later films, I found myself enthralled. Why?

Rent

I’ve never been fond of musicals. Yes, I’ve seen a few. Disney movies, CatsSleeping BeautyA Muppet Christmas Carol, and of course Rent. None of them were at a theater. I’ve never gone to see a theatrically produced musical. All of the above are movies. Now, I have seen several operas live (Turandot, Tosca, The Flying Dutchman, and a few others). Now, I do love opera. Does that count?

Anyway, Rent managed to be the first movie I had seen in a theater in almost ten years. So, why did I go see something I really did not have much interest in? Well, a friend of mine was a huge Rent fan. And he wanted to go. And since the showing was a free preview, I went along, too.

At the time, I enjoyed the movie. Now, was the enjoyment based more on the movie itself or the community that formed to watch the movie? I really don’t know.

I’ve seen the film a few more times subsequently, but I’ve grown increasingly bored with it on each viewing.

Why? Is the film only something that I want to watch once or twice? Or has my tastes changed as I’ve grown older?

I really don’t know.

Kill Bill Vols. 1 and 2

I must say that I loved these two films. And I didn’t expect to, honestly. I watched Kill Bill vol. 1 a few years back thanks to Netflix. But I’ve never seen Kill Bill vol. 2 in its entirety until last Friday. Damn, what took me so long?

Why did I expect to not like these two films? Well, I mentioned in my earlier post on classic horror that I dislike gorn. And Kill Bill has plenty of gorn. But I still like it. I guess there are exceptions to every rule.

I enjoy several things about this film. The style is amazing, the shifts from color to black and white and beyond is just plain cool. The revenge trope is used to excellent effect. And I love, love the genre mashup. Just awesome all around.

Finally

Watching these three films got me to thinking more about my tastes then I’ve thought about in a while. My tastes tend far more to the geek (I know, I know) rather than to however you define fondness for musicals (although I do love me some opera).

The moral, if there is one, is that no one’s tastes is exactly one thing. Mine certainly isn’t.

Preview

That’s it for today. The coming week should have a comic book post or two, me returning to thoughts on publishing, a post (or two or three) in honor of GLBT History Month, and whatever else strikes my fancy.

Posted on October 7, 2012, in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Also avoided Kill Bill due to not liking gore and ended up adoring it. Check out my review http://amandalovesmovies.com/2012/09/06/kill-bill/

Leave a Reply

