31 Days of Post Day 8: A Realization?

I know I’ve come down pretty pro traditional publishing in some of my previous posts. But yesterday, I came to a realization that forces me to take another (and harder) look at self publishing as compared to traditional publishing.

What I realized is that the plethora of ideas and genres that I have slatted up may make things somewhat more difficult when it comes to traditional publishing.

From what I’ve seen, a lot of writers, especially genre writers, tend to stick to a single subgenre or general story type. And I really have a thing against that.

Sticking to novels for the moment, my current project is different than what I’d like to tackle next. And so on.

So I got to thinking. Would this make things more difficult. From what I’ve gleaned from publishing and writing advice sites, it does look likely that problems will arise. Especially if I don’t want to bother with utilizing new pen names with every novel. That just sounds stupid (no offense to those who do use a lot of pen names).

So, should I really take another shot at researching self publishing (and e-publishing in particular)? Probably. But I do still want the feel of books.

The more I think about it, the more I think that I need to be far more flexible in options. I have a clear preference for the traditional, but I have to be willing to change with the times. And really, what am I writing for anyway? I write because I want to not because I want to make a lot of money off of it (though that would be a nice bonus).

Anyway, I think these periods of questioning my decisions are good. They force me to reevaluate my positions and courses of action. Am I making the right decision?  All I know is that I need to do more research and more thinking.

Posted on October 8, 2012, in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

