31 Days of Post Day 16: Sorcery and Swords/ Swords and Sorcery

I’m a fan of swords and sorcery. I’ve been a fan since I was a child. Hell, I first watched Conan the BarbarianConan the DestroyerRed SonjaThe Beastmaster, etc. before I was six. Now, I’m a rather fickle fan, but I always come back to my fandoms. Usually.

But, I’m not your typical sword and sorcery fan. Unlike many fans who read for the tales of swordsmen (whether barbarian or not) against corrupt civilizations and evil sorcerers, I read for the opposite reason. I read for the wizards and the magic. Don’t get me wrong, I like Conan as a character, but I’m far more interested in Tsotha-lanti, Thoth Amon, and the others. Why else did I do a series of posts a few years ago called “The Wizards of Conan”?

Now, I won’t pretend that I’ve read as widely in s&s as I would like. I only recently discovered Clark Ashton Smith’s early contributions. And I look for more. (Any recommendations are appreciated!)

And by more, I look equally for newer takes on the old genre. That’s why I rather liked Strahan and Anders’s Swords and Dark Magic anthology. I think that if a genre can’t adapt to new tastes and generations, then it doesn’t have much hope save as a cultural artifact.

I’ve posted a few times on sword and sorcery. I’ve enthused about SF Signal’s podcast series on swords and sorcery. And I’ve wondered about the possibility of “modernizing” swords and sorcery.

The more I think about it, the more I think you can play with it. Does sword and sorcery work best set in a psuedohistorical or preindustrial setting? Maybe. But I think a sword and sorcery story, even a rather “traditional” one, can be set in more recent times (or an approximation).

Anyway, that’s it for today. Tomorrow I don’t have anything set that I want to post about. Maybe a post on my favorite television shows? Maybe a personal post? Don’t know.

 

Posted on October 16, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

