31 Days of Post Day 17: My Favorite Television Mishmash

Before we begin, let me set up what I’m going to be posting over the course of the next two days. On Thursday, I’ve got a Hammer Horror post lined up. And on Friday, I’m going to make up for missing National Coming Out Day by talking about being a gay geek.

But that’s for the end of the week. Now, on to what I’m wanting to tackle today. My favorite television shows.

I made the mistake of watching Monday Night Football instead of the season premier of The Walking Dead. I finally got around to it yesterday. And damn, that was an awesome episode.

I had some issues with The Walking Dead’s second season. But I have high hopes that this new season will correct the problems revealed last season. 

Mythbusters also had its season premier a few weeks ago. I’ve always enjoyed this show. I’ve kind of dropped off routinely watching because  Discovery has played havoc with the schedule over the past few months. I’m glad its back, though, and hope it has a few more good seasons in it.

Indeed, I need to remember to look for more Mythbusters appearances on Fora. There’s a video from a few years ago where Adam Savage discusses his attempts to create a dodo replica. It is awesome.

In sadder news, the next few weeks will see the end of No Reservations. I’ve always enjoyed this show, though I think some episodes are far better than others. And I’ve detected an increasing focus on food to the detriment of everything else. However, what is Globe Trekker for?

I will miss No Reservations though. I just have to wonder if Anthony Bourdain’s new show is going to basically be a retread of No Reservations.


I’m still into Market Warriors. Some elements of the show are just bizarre and wacky. But hey, it is great fun. Especially watching experts trying to make a profit and often failing miserably.

Looking to the future, I’m looking forward to the new season of Shameless.

In addition I’ve recently discovered the Youtube channel called Geek and Sundry. I just love Tabletop. Maybe I’ll do a dedicated write up to it in a few weeks?

Anyway, that’s it for today. I’ll be back tomorrow with a new post.

 

Posted on October 17, 2012, in T.V. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

