31 Days of Post Day 26: By Set, Not Again!

So, it seems the world will be graced (or blighted) with another Conan film in the next few years. This time, it will be Legend of Conan staring Arnold, the former Governator. Yesh.

I’m not going to spend a whole lot of time on the preproduction hype for this movie. Let’s just say that Al over at The Blog that Time Forgot expresses similar opinions to mine. With more entertainingly harsh analysis.

Basically, the new movie will ignore Conan the Destroyer and forget that there was a reboot in the form of Conan the Barbarian (2011). Instead, this new film is a direct sequel, thirty plus years removed, of Conan the Barbarian (1982).

No, just, no. I don’t want to see Arnold back as Conan. I don’t want to see more craptacular adaptations of the Cimmerian.

Don’t get me wrong. I like Conan the Barbarian (1982). I’m less fond of the sequel (Conan the Destroyer). And my attitude towards Conan the Barbarian (2011) is torn. I don’t remember if I reviewed the film or not. I disliked the movie’s plot intensely. But Jason Momoa made an excellent Conan.

I’ve posted a few comments on other sites (BtTF, Black Gate, and John R. Fulz’s blog) expressing my lack of enthusiasm and hope for the day when Howard’s Conan stories are finally in the public domain.

All of this raises the question. Do I want to see Howard’s Conan adapted? And how do I want to see it done?

Yes. I want to see the Conan stories that Robert E. Howard wrote adapted. That most of the films have mishandled the material is unquestioned. And disconcerting.

So, how would I do it? One word. Poirot. Go the route of Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle’s detectives. I’ve loved the adaptations of Christie’s work that Poirot and Miss Marple/ Marple have done. So why can’t there be a Conan television series that sets itself the goal of adapting the entirety of the Robert E. Howard stories?

Why does it have to be a Hollywood film. Why does it have to be a blockbuster?

 

Posted on October 26, 2012, in Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Lovely Blog award. http://yawattahosby.wordpress.com/2012/10/26/one-lovely-blog-award

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

Leave a Reply

