I’m Back, with Random Thoughts

I’m back after taking a few days off. There is nothing really pressing today that I want to blog about, so I’ll throw out some random ideas and thoughts. Maybe they’ll provide the seeds for future blog posts.

So far, NaNoWriMo is a bust this year for me. The novel that I wanted to work on is just not gelling like I had hoped. So, I’m going to have to rethink the darn thing. Too many narrative voices and an unneeded secondary world, I think, are the main problems.

Plus, I’m getting the urge to work on more of my comic book ideas. Which I find more interesting and exciting. Though shouldn’t I aspire more to novels?

One good thing about today is Encore is airing Stephen King’s Storm of the Century. Apart from SciFi’s Dune. SotC is my favorite television miniseries. I haven’t seen it in years, though. I’m salivating for it. But, I’ve also got the Texans playing around that time. And Dallas tonight. Tivo is going to be getting a workout.

Speaking of tonight, I don’t know what it is, but I’m growing steadily apathetic towards The Walking Dead again. I don’t know. It just seems that the momentum from the first episode isn’t keeping my interest. But I’ll continue to watch.

Keeping on television, I wonder how “rigorous” or “thought out” much television criticism is? I know a lot of the academic stuff never sees the light of popular awareness. I just would like to see an increased willingness to critique television harder.

Maybe I just hang out too much in book and comic book circles. But now that I think about it, I wonder which great genre (prose fiction, comic books, television, movies, theatre, etc.) has the harshest critical culture in general?

Well, I think I’ll cut this post short. I should probably do a Critters critique sometime soon.

Here are some topics I may tackle in the coming week:

The possibilities of new media (I’ve been obsessing over this lately, and in ways I’d never expect).

Getting back into art (which might be a new series of posts).

 

Posted on November 4, 2012, in T.V. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

