At Last! The Avengers Reviewed

Oh my, The Avengers has got to be in the top two superhero films of all time. Damn, that was a great movie. I freaking loved it!

Everything about this film is almost perfect. And that makes writing this review so difficult. Where can I point out the flaws in all of the elements that are so right? Well, there are a few things.

I can’t say that I’m overly fond of Agent Coulson’s fanboy attitude towards Captain America. That kind of got on my nerves.

Another issue I had is the requisite superhero brawl before the inevitable team up/ team formation. Ugh, why does this always have to happen? Too big egos?

That said, I think Clark Gregg (Agent Coulson) does a stand out performance. And all of the actors who make up the Avengers do a splendid job.

The one acting job I have an issue with is Tom Hiddleston’s Loki. In ThorLoki’s tragic journey to super villain status is heartbreaking and very well acted. Indeed, I much preferred his story over Thor’s. But in The Avengers, he becomes just another petty wannabe tyrant. What made him work so well as a character in Thor just seems absent here. And that is a waste, to be sure. And the acting shows that, in my opinion.

And the credits interlude scene? Bah. I never liked Thanos. So I’m not really looking forward to him being a main antagonist in future films.

Now, let us shift a little to the action. Whoa, some of those scenes are just amazing. Especially the attack on the Helicarrier and the Battle of New York. Oh my, now that is how you do action sequences! Spectacular!

Is it possible to do a fair review when you really enjoy (or love) a film? I don’t know, honestly. I know The Avengers has its flaws, but what it gets right makes up for it by far. If you haven’t seen this movie yet, why the heck not?

 

I know this review is rather short, but it is late, and I have other things I want to do.

Also a quick reminder to comment topic ideas for post 300. If you don’t, I’ll write a post on my obsessions. Until my next post. . .

Posted on November 30, 2012, in Movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

