I’m Back, With Quick Musings

So, I decided to take a bit of a break from blogging over the past few days. Really didn’t feel like it. But now I’m back. There isn’t anything extensive I want to yammer on about, so here are some really quick musings.

Last Thursday, James Robinson did a press run discussing what is coming up in Earth 2. Honestly really excited for what he has up his sleeves.

The same is true for the latest teasers concerning the January relaunch of Young Avengers. Hot damn! I’m dying with anticipation! I have very good feelings about this one. And I have to say, the art looks really good. Especially the colors!

Moving on to television, the midseason finale of The Walking Dead was really good. Certainly better than some of the other episodes this season. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the show, but some of the problems that plagued the second season are still there. Just alleviated by the split narrative.

I don’t know if this is insane or not. I had the idea to explore whether or not the ideas expressed in Naomi Klein’s The Shock Doctrine can also be applicable to the arts. For example, is Glee’s narrative style dependent on an artistic form of “the shock doctrine”? What does that say about the show? And about art? What other arts utilize similar “shock” tactics?

I want to cut this post short (given that I’ve had several really long posts recently). I have a few posts planned for this week, but I won’t spoil anything. Until next time.

Posted on December 10, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

