Spider-Man: Amazing to Superior

Take warning now, this post will contain spoilers for Amazing Spider-Man 700. Mind you, if you want to be spoiled, every comics website should have them up, too.

 

So, for the moment, Dr. Octopus has finally beaten his nemesis, Spider-Man. Not only that, but Otto Octavius has assumed the life of his most hated enemy. And has decided to live his new life as his enemy did. As a hero, as Spider-Man.

Wow. From what I can tell by the internet’s reaction, Dan Slott should be in hiding right now. Which is unfortunate.

I understand why there is such a vitriolic reaction to this new direction. But, I like what Slott argues when he says:

“He had to be a hero in his own eyes, and on some level Otto Octavius is facing that struggle not with Spider-Man’s world but with the readership. . . How do you get more Peter Parker than that? Now the readers think he is a menace. That’s exciting. On a meta level, that is Spider-Man.” (Comic Book Resources)

I like this. To be honest, I think there isn’t enough change in comics. Especially in the shared universes that make up Marvel and DC.

To be honest, I didn’t want Bruce Wayne to come back as Batman. Let Dick Grayson permanently assume the role. The same applies to Jean Grey (though she is, technically, still dead) and several other iconic characters.

But I can also see why people have a problem with Doctor Octopus taking over as Spider-Man/ Peter Parker. Having the villain win just doesn’t fly. And depending on how long this status quo lasts, the real Peter Parker’s return is inevitable.  I mean, he has been replaced before by clones. And I don’t remember those changes sticking for long. Save for Miles Morales over in the Ultimate Universe. . .

I really don’t have much invested in this argument, though. I haven’t been particularly devout in reading Spider-Man’s comics over the past few years. But this change could get me to check things out. I mean, I’d like to give the redemption of Otto Octavius a shot.

Shouldn’t you?

Posted on December 26, 2012, in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I didn’t realize you had written about this! You’re absolutely right in every way and you said it far more eloquently than I did. And seriously, Slott hasn’t done anything bad since his run started.

    • Thanks! I need to take the time to check out Slott’s run. Been forever since I’ve read Spider-Man. I’m more of a DC Comics guy. I love the New 52, but wish Dick Grayson was still Batman.

Leave a Reply

