What More Can Be Said? Young Avengers #1 is. . . Amazing!

Less than a week ago, Young Avengers #1 was released by Marvel as part of Marvel Now!. Written by Kieron Gillen with art by Jamie McKelvie and Mike Norton, colorist Matthew Wilson, and letterer Clayton Cowles, this opening issue is simply great. I loved every minute of it. But, what can I say in this review that hasn’t already been said in other reviews? I mean, every review I’ve read have been extremely positive with some very high ratings. 

I really can’t, to be honest. I love the writing. I love the fact that Billy and Teddy are depicted as a sickeningly in love couple (though I do wish we’ll see them get as much action as Kate and Noh-Varr, if not, I may change my tune). I love that opening sequence, hot damn! And Kid Loki is going to be a favorite of mine. He is a trip, no matter what. 

And the art work? Wow. I love it. I especially love the work of Mattew Wison. His colors are just freaking amazing. It is, honestly, a perfect complement to the amazing pencils and inks. Just, wow. What a great art team! 

I can only hope guest artists will be used in a manner similar to what DC is doing with Earth 2 and Batman (letting the art team have “filler” or standalone issues off in between the big arcs). 

So, what can I say about this series? Well, I can interrogate how Gillen answers my concerns about teens with aspirations of becoming superheroes. And I think he does a splendid job.

The kids who make up the team are doing the job because they want to do it. During the fight with the Skrulls, Kate Bishop wonderfully explains why “everyone should try it.” “Being a superhero is amazing,” which indicates the excitement of the lifestyle. There is, perhaps, something addictive to a superheroic lifestyle. 

And maybe, that is a metaphor for certain elements of the teen experience? I don’t remember which review compared Young Avengers to Skins, but I think that is a very excellent comparison. Isn’t the superhero lifestyle not comparable to a heavy party scene? 

In that metaphor, I think I find the answer to my earlier question about teen superheroes. Though, to be honest, I really do prefer them to be more “outlaw” than the groomed “next generation.” Perhaps it is a difference between rebellion and falling in line with one’s parents. 

So, while there is some elements of “cosplay” culture at work here, I don’t think that sense of emulation is all there is to it in this “new” Young Avengers team. Rather, these young heroes are standing on their own, not trying to be their parents or their role models. And that is, I think, a very good thing. 

Now, damn, I have to wait another month to see what happens! I can’t wait to see how the team comes together. For now, I think the team will be pulled together through three different storylines: A: Wiccan and Hulkling’s mistake (yes Wiccan does it, but Hulkling subtly guilt trips him into doing it). B: Loki and America Chavez’s violent game to figure out how to deal with Wiccan. And C: the sexy space adventures of Kate and Marvel Boy (’nuff said). I can see how A and B come together, but C may be a little tricky. Again, I can’t freaking wait. How will they get out of this one?

I want issue 2 now, damn it all!

 

Posted on January 27, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

