Critique Group Indecision

I’m a member of Critters, an online writing group. I’ve blogged before about some of my issues with the group. And lately, my issues have started to bubble up again. 

At issue is the fact that Critters is aimed more at short stories rather than novels. And, as a writer, I’m far more interested in writing novels than short stories. In fact, I have no interest in writing short fiction. 

So, while I’m helping numerous other writers better their own work, I’m not sure if my own work is benefiting. Yes, I’ve been a dedicated reader for several novels, but I’m still forced to critique short fiction so that I can remain in good standing. 

Don’t get me wrong. Critters is a great resource. But I’ve grown bored with it. I want something new.

But, perhaps, now is not the time to change. Maybe I should stick it out. Or, perhaps, start looking for critique groups that are novel oriented with similar values that I share. 

That could work. 

Now, if only I could find the time to think without my rambunctious nieces running wild. 

Posted on June 27, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. There are a lot of ‘aspiring writers’ out there, but not so many great ones, who will have the time to help you grow as a writer. I recently bought some books on writing (mostly script-writing) that I think are definitely going to help me. There’s always more growing and improving to be done, its never-ending 🙂 I guess my advice would be don’t spend too much time always helping others, but find time to improve your craft as well 😀

  2. I’m sorry you’re having problems with motivation regarding your writer’s group. Maybe make friends within your group and see if anyone else is writing novels, then see if you two could be critique partners, swapping a couple chapters each time. That way you’re still engaging with everyone by giving feedback on short stories but you’re also getting something valuable as well.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    • I do have a few friends whose work I try to critique whenever they have something up.
      I think a lot of it is fatigue. And a desire to focus on my own work.

Leave a Reply

