The Thrill of the Research Blues

I’m going to add Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy to the list of books I’m looking for at Golden’s Book Exchange on Saturday. And maybe I’ll add Lev Grossman’s The Magicians to the list (my failed attempts to read that damn novel has become a running joke). At the moment, I have both books (along with Life of Pi and Air Gear vol. 1) checked out from the library. Hell, I’m trying to read TTSS right now. But I’m going to have to take a break from reading it because I have way too much research to do to take the time for pleasure reading. 

I blame myself. I hoard library books. At the moment, I have thirteen out. And I’ve got another seven waiting for pickup. Three of which are interlibrary loans that I can only have for three weeks. (Though I am thrilled that they came so quickly)

So, while I want to finish TTSS (and even The Magicians), I’ve already renewed them once (which is the limit). So, I will just have to buy the damn books and read them when I get the time.

To weasel out of my own problem, the film adaptation of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy is still fresh in my mind. And damn, that was a great movie. Blew Skyfall out of the water. (And that opens up a whole other can of worms)

But I’m also wildly excited to start the research process. I can’t wait to learn new information about the medieval period. I’m thrilled to see where all of this research will lead to in my next project. 

I’ve already learned so much about village life in mid fourteenth century England that I never knew. And an equal amount about town life. This is freaking gold! Especially given that my epic fantasy historcisim (that sounds terrible) will deal as much with the peasantry as it will with mighty lords. I can’t wait to discover more!

I’m actually more thrilled than disappointed. 

 

Looking over this post, I’ve noticed two avenues for future posts. Looking at the old adage that the book is better than the adaptation. And discussing some of my writing schedule, without giving too much away.

Posted on July 11, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

