At Golden’s Book Exchange

Today, I finally managed to find the time to go to my favorite used book store, Golden’s Book Exchange. I had fun. I found some new treasures. But my grandiose plans of what I had on my list went out the window. 

While I had largely talked myself out of looking for art books, I decided to see if I could find any for the hell of it. 

I feel like an idiot. The art books have been under my nose the whole time! They are across from the As and Bs in the science fiction and fantasy section! I just needed to turn around! Argh.

So, I found the art books. The selection is small. And, for me, rather unimpressive. I had hoped to see some Bridgman, Hogarth, and Loomis in addition to some books on pastels. There were none. The library will remain my primary resource for art learning. 

The history section, for me, is usually disappointing. My primary area of interest in history is the ancient and classical world. And, for this trip, I was also looking for books of medieval history (research purposes). I didn’t see anything that caught my eye. My tastes in history books tend to the academic rather than popular, though.

I am singularly disappointed that I could not find Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy in the spy/ thriller section. Then again, given that I found some Iain M. Banks in the contemporary fiction section, maybe I was looking in the wrong place?

So, what did I get? The usual. Six science fiction and fantasy novels.

Those Iain M. Banks novels? I picked up Player of Games (I already have Consider Phlebas). My grand plan went to hell, however, when I saw the complete Chronicles of Narnia. I just had to have it. I also found a copy of Cherrie Priest’s Boneshaker lying around and pounced (it was literally on the floor). I also picked up a Peter F. Hamilton (I had hoped for Earth by David Brin). And, I did it, I picked up Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

So, all in all, a very good shopping excursion. I’m pleased with my purchases.

It will just take time to get around to reading them. I do have all that research to do. Which has me giddy with excitement in and of itself. 

So, Potter will have to wait for me to revise my opinion. Or thoroughly slam him to perdition!

And I may have to take time for some art books, regardless if I make a go at comics. Damn it all to hell, I’m losing the art on my walls! Stupid yard sale. 

 

Posted on July 13, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

