Coming Fast at You, Three Posts in One Day

Part Three: Why Can’t I Get This Comic Book Post Right?

Previously, I almost talked myself out of my desire both to write and to do the art on any comics projects I had coming up. It didn’t stick. There is a desire, a need to do the art. I’m compelled. So who am I to argue?

Now, I had originally wanted to write an analytical post on LGBT comics. But I really don’t have enough background to do an adequate job. I don’t (usually) read comics by and for LGBT. 

And that led to my second plan. Why don’t I take Dale Lazarov’s article in Bleeding Cool and go from there. That could work despite my limited knowledge. 

But, would you, the reader, really want to read me review a small amount of gay erotica from Class Comics? 

So, I’m in a bit of a bind as to how to approach this. 

Maybe what I can do is discuss what I want. What I want to see and what I want to write when it comes to comics (by which I also mean manga). 

For most of you who read this blog, you know that I’ve had my eye on two projects recently, a shonen inspired series and a gay erotic comic. I’m going to set the more mainstream project aside for a bit and focus on the erotic project. 

My initial idea was a type of slice of life inspired by my college years. But the more I thought about the idea, the harder the time I had finding a plot. I want to write something more than the romantic and sexual misadventures of a promiscuous young gay man. 

Idea B was centered around an island and a criminal enterprise. I don’t want to go into too much depth here, though. I like the idea. It would give the characters more to worry about. But, there is a huge issue. How economically feasible would it be to set up such an island? 

So, I’m stuck. Until it hit me. Why not just use one of my other ideas that involve a gay protagonist? Or modify another project. And then sexy it up. That could work, I think. Or soap up the first idea. 

Going on a tangent to discus art, I know that I need practice. A lot of practice. But I can build up my skills while writing novels. (One of these days, I need to blog about my idea notebooks). 

To get back on subject, the kinds of comics I want to write and read have LGBT characters. But they’re not overly concerned with what could be called an LGBT common culture. 

Take Class Comics. I like some of the art, but the writing is, often, atrocious. There’s that same quality to it that reminds me of Dryland’s End that I just cannot stand. I don’t quite know what it is, but it is just downright off putting. Maybe there’s too much camp. (Remind me to revisit the issue after I’ve read more comics by and for LGBT.)

To be honest, I’m not happy with this post either. But it will have to do. So ends my three posts in one day. 

Now I need to go get the laundry.

Posted on August 2, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

