31 Days of Post (2) Day 14: The Christmas Gift Rumble

 It is two months before Christmas, and I’m debating with myself what presents I want to get people. While I’m toying with the idea of lumps of coal as a gag gift (even if they are deserved), I know that the effect will be nil. My nieces are two of the most creative and inventive brats I know. They’d take that lump of coal and play without a care in the world. And make a mess. 

So, what gifts am I aiming to give? Mostly books. What else did you expect? But blanketing everyone with books a good idea?

Are books an appropriate gift for a two, nearly three, year old? Maybe if someone actually read to her. But if not books, what then? Clothing? Toys?

My original idea was to bundle my two nieces’ gifts. But I am unsure. I should talk this over with the parents, but I do know that I want to get the more boring and practical presents.

For my elder niece, I want to get her two collections of fairy tales, namely those by the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen. I’ve been clear that this would be her gift for a while now. 

As for my brother and his girlfriend, I have no clue. I was thinking of getting them a cookbook. But I really don’t know what to get them. Especially if I bundle it. 

My brother is not a reader. He’s a gamer and action movie junkie. Maybe a PS3 network card?

For the girlfriend? Not a clue. 

The hardest person to buy a gift for is my mom. She is almost anti-gift when it comes to herself. Which is often a pain in the butt when I want to do nice things for her. She always discourages it!

Like my brother, she’s not a reader. I could get her a picture frame. Or maybe make some art.

In addition to buying books, I also really want to make something. But I don’t know what.

Christmas is still two months away, so I have time.

Posted on October 14, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

