31 Days of Post (2) Day 17: On Star Trek

Star Trek Into Darkness was. . . not as bad as I had expected it to be. A pleasant surprise, honestly. I didn’t care for the first Star Trek (the reboot). But the sequel wasn’t too bad. It had a few moments, though. But, this post is not just about the reboot. This is a post about all of Star Trek.

After Star Trek Into Darkness, I’m reconsidering my attitudes towards the reboot. While I still hate the plotting, I think I”m starting to like the expanded roles for the supporting cast. Kirk is still insufferable, but Spock comes across as a credible counter protagonist, Uhura and Bones are competing admirably for the third most important spot. And Chekov, Sulu, and Scotty all have their moments to shine. Which is more than I can say about the Original Series where Kirk dominated with rare episodes giving any of the other characters a chance to shine (and then largely limited, if memory serves, to Spock). In my opinion, this is a move in the right direction. (Plus, I love the fact that there are far more aliens in the crew compared to the Original Series).

But the plotting still sucks. My biggest issue with Star Trek and (now) Star Trek Into Darkness is that the plot is not up to snuff compared to the characters. 

It has been a while since I last saw Star Trek, but I think I can remember my problem with it. Nero’s plan was idiotic. Destroying Vulcan makes no sense. And certainly destroying Earth makes no sense. Rather, why not give the Romulus of the past the advanced tech on the Narada? That way, the Romulans could have a stronger position in galactic politics (and warn of the supernova with enough time to avoid the destruction of Romulus and Remus in the new timeline). I get the anger at Spock, but it just doesn’t work. 

My problem with Star Trek Into Darkness lies in the usage of Khan and the Klingons. Khan just doesn’t work in this film. And the Klingons? Wasted opportunity. 

But the films are pretty, I’ll give you that. 

When I originally conceived of this post, I planned to rant in favor of the need to put Star Trek back where it belongs. On television.

But do I still agree with that position? I don’t know. 

You see, the question is: where can Star Trek go from here? How can Star Trek be made new and relevant now?

I don’t know. Watching Star Trek Into Darkness, I really don’t know how a new series on television could work. A continuation of the films? (But would the current cast be content on television?) A continuation of the original timeline? (But how to make it new?) Something else? Just keep with the films?  I don’t know. 

Star Trek is one of the most important media franchises. Left for dead after the failure of Enterprise, it rose from the ashes with Star Trek. Now, with many of the creative team likely migrating to Star Wars, what will Star Trek do?

Posted on October 17, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

