31 Days of Post (2) Day 22: A Comic Book Post

I’m fickle. I go through periods of obsession that sputter out. I’ve written about this before. And I’m sure to write about it again. Right now, I’m going through a period of transition. For a about a year, I was obsessed with comic books after a period of deep manga obsession. But now, I’m growing less and less interested in comics. 

This became obvious to me when I checked out Wonder Woman volume 2 from the library last week. I flipped through the book (of which I do have the last two issues that comprise it) and found myself completely uninterested in actually reading it. Compare that to my passion for Tsubasa and annoyance at the library for not getting the past few volumes of Fairy Tail

Why am I so uninterested in comic books right now? What changed? I think the answers are pretty obvious.

For one thing, buying individual issues are expensive. And that is true of graphic novel collections that don’t add much besides the issues themselves. And the length of time it takes for graphic novel collections to be released are ridiculous when it comes to Marvel and DC.

I’m also getting tired of superheroes. All but a few of my comic book purchases were superhero books. And while many of them were quite good, I’m just tired of them.

And, to be honest, I wasn’t in love with the direction some of the stories were going in. This is especially true of Young Avengers. I had such high hopes for the series, but I am bitterly disappointed with the direction it has gone. Another series that saddens me is the direction the plot of Earth 2 is going. I loved that series deeply, but it just lost it along the way. 

Heck, I’m not even following comics news as much as I used to. I just don’t care.

So, what is taking comic books’ place in my, admittedly, fickle  heart? Manga. For all the passion I had for Earth 2, it pales in comparison to the passionate love and hate I have for Naruto. Nor does it compare to the love I have for Fairy Tail.

It is moments like this that I am most annoyed with myself. In my obsession with comics, I got rid of all my manga. Now I want my manga back. Arrgh.

Well, since I wrote about comics today, maybe I should have a manga post tomorrow?

Posted on October 22, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

