The Idea Needs Maturing

Over the last few posts, I’ve explored the idea of writing a superhero fantasy. Though numerous problems abound that threaten the possibility of such a project, I think it is absolutely doable. But, for me, I’m going to be putting such ideas on the back burner of my creativity. I may return to it one day. Or I may not. 

The reason why I’m going to be putting this idea on the back burner is because the idea is too new. Yes, I’ve toyed with writing superheroes like so many other comic book fans who are writers, but I’ve learned recently that some ideas need time to grow and mature within the writer’s mind. I have the idea, but I haven’t the foggiest idea where I would go with that idea. I know that I’m wanting a full superhero history starting in either the 1920s or 1930s (keeping with tradition) and proceeding into the near future. I know that I want to have some form of super humans (like mutants). But the details are non existent. 

Part of the attraction for wanting to write a superhero fantasy is the fact that I can play with many genres at once. Early superhero history can have a definite diesel punk feel that moves in a raygun gothic direction. I can also play up the science fantasy elements mixed in with contemporary fantasy. And this will be epic fantasy.

With all that said, though, I’m honestly not really into comics at the moment. In the post where I first introduced the idea, I mentioned that I thought I was coming out of being interested in comics before getting bit by this bug. But to be honest, my interest is still waning rapidly. 

But should my interest in superhero comics really affect my enthusiasm for writing a superhero fantasy? Honestly, no. In fact, it would probably be for the best if I stop reading superhero comics entirely so that my writing doesn’t devolve into just simply acting as a rant against whatever I’m currently reading. 

Besides wanting the idea to mature, the main reason why I’m going to put the idea on the back burner is because superheroes are, in my opinion, over saturated in the market. Even if this superhero saturation hasn’t reached all the way to novels (which is what I’m planning), I still think the market might be too full. 

And besides that, I’ve got so many other projects in the works. And some which are far more ready to be written. Which will be the subject of tomorrow’s post.

Posted on December 5, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

