Calling for Recommendations: Historical Fiction

I have no burning desire to read historical fiction. It is just a genre I have no interest in. This apathy revealed itself when I wrote my blog post entitled “A Rant of Hot and Cold” and its recent followup. But maybe, just maybe, I should take the time to actually read some historical fiction. 

This is where you come in. I need recommendations. I could go to the historical fiction page on Wikipedia and randomly select authors and titles, but there is the horrifying possibility I could select a slew of books I cannot stand. 

So any recommendations I receive will be greatly appreciated. (And hopefully, my local library have them on the shelves).

There are a few books I already have my eyes on. The Tale of Genji and The Romance of the Three Kingdoms are newly ILLed (so it will take them awhile). I’m also eyeing Mary Renault’s The Persian Boy and Alexandre Dumas’ The Three Musketeers and (maybe) Queen Margot

Here’s what I’m looking for: global coverage. I’ve got East Asia, France, and Hellenistic Greece/ Asia Minor/ Central Asia covered. The rest of the world needs some attention. I also want a balance of men and women authors. I’m thinking ten authors. I’ve got four down, so I need six more. 

I was intending on reading The Persian Boy and The Three Musketeers in the past (and coming) few weeks. But I’m in the middle of a comic book/ manga binge right now. (I did read a bit from The Three Musketeers and didn’t like it. But I’m hoping I may revise my opinion on a second take.)

Despite my lack of interest, I am looking forward to this. Will my opinion of historical fiction change, or will I continue to lack interest in the genre? Time and reading will tell. 

Posted on June 13, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Captain_Alatriste

    Only last book has not been translated to English. Very good.

  2. The Long Ships by Frans G. Bengtsson
    Gentlemen of the Road by Michael Chabon
    Hild by Nicola Griffith.

    • Michal,
      Thanks for the recommendations. I’ll put Chabon on the list. Annoyingly, my local library doesn’t carry Bengtsson. And only one novel by Griffith, which is not Hild.
      Maybe I’ll ILL them when my queue is a little smaller.

Leave a Reply

