Texas and The Road to Wellville: A Problem with the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge?

I’ve currently finished six books in my historical fiction reading challenge. I’m worried. So far, things are not looking well. 

The Road to Wellville while a well written novel did not appeal to me in the least. T.C. Boyle is a good writer, but his style is not something I’m fond of. 

Texas by James Michener has a very solid structure. But is, unfortunately, boring. Especially with the narrative frame. 

As things stand, the only book I really like is Romance of the Three Kingdoms with Gentlemen of the Road being likeable but disappointing. The rest? Not good. 

I don’t blame the texts. The fault lies with me. I didn’t think the historical fiction reading challenge through.

For one thing, do I really have the time to finish, if not closely read, all twenty texts? Plus everything else I need to read? No. I let my ambitions get the best of me, again. And, like always, I bit off more than I can chew. Especially when I’m in a research kick. 

For another thing, I don’t think I conceived the idea very well. My contention is that I prefer history writing to historical fiction. So why am I just reading historical fiction? Shouldn’t I have formulated this plan as a comparison? History vs. fiction based on that history. 

I don’t know what I’m going to do. For now, I’m going to cut back on the challenge (the last two books will be Hild and The Long Ships as they are currently on their way). My attention, for the foreseeable future, will be on research. 

Whether or not this witnesses the premature end of the historical fiction reading challenge is up in the air. I may drop the project. Or I may return to it when I have the time. 

Posted on August 23, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

