Digging Myself Out

In the wake of my National Novel Writing Month collapse, I’ve been busy digging myself out. I am pleased with the progress I’ve made over the past few weeks. But, as always, there is still much work ahead of me.

Though project Black Magic did not collapse, I didn’t really understand the project until a few days ago when the theme came to me in a flash of inspiration (and was there the whole damn time in hindsight). The theme brings all of my disconnected ideas and dreams for this project together in a way that it wasn’t before. I wanted an epic fantasy set on contemporary Earth, and now I’ve got it.

I also admit that I didn’t do enough research when I wrote about the project in October. Reading Soulstealers by Philip A. Kuhn and A Guide to Mexican Witchcraft have been revelations. I know what I’m going to write. I know the story.

But I’m not done with the research, yet. There is still so much I need to know before I feel comfortable writing this story.

The biggest problem arising from the November Collapse is project The Journey. I want to write this story. I have to write this story. I will write this story.

I just need to figure out where the hell I’m going with it without making the world building look silly.

I have an idea but I need to work on it more.

And, ultimately, I need to just take the plunge.

But, The Journey is not alone as a possible portal fantasy. What about Two Cities? I, honestly, think I can do both.

The Journey is, by design, an adventure novel, a quest. Two Cities, by contrast, is a novel of adaptation and community. So, writing both projects probably will not lead to overlapping or repetition.

I know now, too, that the story I want to start with is The Journey. Now, I just need to figure out a new title and get to work world building.

Posted on December 12, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

