Stormdancer: Review

Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff starts with the hunt for an arashitora and ends with an assassination. The novel is a mashup of Japanese myth, steampunk, and Dune. The originality of Stormdancer is marred by a well trod plot. I cannot say I liked this book.

I like the world building. Shima is a well realized world that incorporates its influences very well.

My problem, though, is that it is so obviously a Japan with the name filed off.

The characters are okay if a little typical. Yukiko is a well realized character, but her story arc is one told so many times in the genre that she becomes one of the crowd of similar protagonists.

The plot is well trod. I feel like  I have read this story several times already.

I really wanted to like Stormdancer. I really did. But I cannot deny that the book failed to resonate with me. Or even entertain me. Which is frustrating. I hate not liking a book.

Posted on October 6, 2016, in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. He deserves every bit of criticism he got for his handling of Japanese culture. It is egregiously bad.

  2. I remember there being some controversy when this book came out about Jay Kristoff butchering the Japanese language/clothing/culture in an egregiously bumbling way. Gorgeous cover art, but I never felt compelled to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

