Cozy Reading Night

Friday, I had a cozy reading night. The idea for cozy reading nights comes from the booktube channel “Lauren and the Books.” This was my first cozy reading night. I enjoyed myself. But I also discovered a few things.

A cozy reading night needs to be an event. There need to be snacks. There need to be drinks. There could be soft music or a fire whether real or artificial. There needs to be a comforting atmosphere.

One person alone does not make a party. Okay, one person could make a party. But I think I would have had more fun if I had visitors to read with me. A reading party if you will.

I read from seven to ten. I took on two novels and a short story. The short story was David Brin’s “Temptation” (from The Space Opera Renaissance) and the two novels that I started were: Call Me by Your Name by Andre Aciman and Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey. I enjoyed all that I read but I did realize something.

I don’t like to switch between multiple books. Rather, I like to sit down and binge an entire book. If I don’t like it, I will put it down, dnf it, and move on to the next. So I think I will pick a selection of possible books and pick one to read for the duration of my next cozy reading night.

My first cozy reading night was fun if not as successful as I hoped. But it did reveal somethings about myself. Mainly, I need to get out more.

Posted on February 19, 2017, in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I usually have multiple books on the go at once, but the reading of them is very localized/segmented: one book on my e-reader, which I use at home and on the weekend, a non-fiction book that I can read with the TV/radio on, a dead tree novel I take to work and read on lunch break–so in a given block of time,, I’m only reading one thing, not switching unless I’m off to do something else first. Format difference also helps to keep them separate in my head.

Leave a Reply

